My current free-to-read serial is Misfits of Aquila, the first in the Aquila’s Original series. It updates twice a week on Fridays and Sundays. It’s part of the Overworld universe and takes place around five years after the end of the Wingborn series. You don’t have to have read all or any previous Overworld books to join in. Whatever your experience of the Overworld, I hope you enjoy.

The series is a YA Fantasy tale taking place in a world cursed to be covered in clouds and features giant talking eagles, and the students who one day hope to ride them. As Misfits and Originals suggest, they’re not the usual intake of students and their road to potential success is littered with all sorts of trials and errors.

You can read it for free here or on Wattpad and can keep up with all the chapters and updates on this page.

Misfits of Aquila
Aquila’s Originals Book 1

On a world cursed to be covered in clouds, the elite eagle-riding Rift Riders rule the skies. Five years after the events of the Wingborn series,  a new class is ready to join them – but this year’s crop is unlike any other.

The first Ihran to ever to train as a Rider; a rebellious princess in hiding; an atheist cast out of a deeply religious society; a student from the land where Riders are banned – and Rhiddyl. The Riders have never trained anyone quite like her before.

But it isn’t so easy to reach Aquila, the Rider’s legendary home. First they must pass the selection school and face the Choice, where they will be united with their eagle companions in a bond that will last the rest of their lives.

No pressure.

Welcome back to the Overworld. A new adventure has begun.

Table of Contents

Chapter One: IhraPart 1, Part 2
Chapter Two: Miryhl HeartPart 1, Part 2
Chapter Three: MisthomePart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter Four: VoyagePart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter Five: Nimbys Part 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 6: ZveneraPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 7: FamilyPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 8: MidwinterPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 9: New HomePart 1, Part 2
Chapter 10: TrainingPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 11: FriendsPart 1, Part 2
Chapter 12: Good DeedsPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 13: BoredomPart 1, Part 2
Chapter 14: RevelationsPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 15: Testing TimesPart 1, Part 2
Chapter 16: Hard PassPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 17: The ChoicePart 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4
Chapter 18: Rhiddyl’s DilemmaPart 1, Part 2
Chapter 19: FlightPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 20: AquilaPart 1, Part 2
Chapter 21: ArrivalPart 1, Part 2
Chapter 22: CaptainsPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 23: OutcastsPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 24: LessonsPart 1, Part 2
Chapter 25: Surprise MeetingsPart 1, Part 2
Chapter 26: RoutinePart 1, Part 2, Part 3