Wingborn is a series of novels being serialised for free in twice weekly updates.

Book 1: Wingborn is complete and available to download from retailers.

Book 2: Rift Riders is available to buy, and there’s a three chapter sample available below. Warning, the last section ends on a cliffhanger.

Book 3: Dragongift is being updated every Friday and Sunday.

A selection of related short stories and deleted scenes can also be found at the bottom of the page.

The series is a YA Traditional Fantasy tale taking place on a cursed world that’s covered in clouds, contains dragons (though not yet), talking eagles and fire-breathing horses, and is currently at war with the monstrous kaz-naghkt.

You can read them here or on Wattpad and can keep up with all the chapters and updates on this page.

Wingborn Book 1

Lady Mhysra Kilpapan was blessed from birth with a distinguished family, a glorious home and a giant eagle miryhl of her own. Fully aware of her luck, she wants for nothing in life – except a chance to become a Rift Rider. The elite force of the Overworld has been closed to women for over one hundred years and not even the legendary Wingborn are allowed to join. Until now.

Women are being admitted to the Riders again and Mhysra wants to be first in line. Except her parents have other ideas, and there are plenty of others who are less than pleased about the change. Yet if Mhysra can find a way to reach Aquila, she will let nothing stop her.

But the Overworld is in trouble and the vicious kaz-naghkt are destroying Rift Rider bases one by one. The Riders need help. Can Mhysra and her friends really be the difference between survival and destruction? Or will they fail before their first year of training is through?

Table of Contents

~ Prologue ~
Chapter One: Wrentheria – Part 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter Two: Nimbys – Part 1, Part 2
Chapter Three: Enrollment – Part 1, Part 2
Chapter Four: Cumulo – Part 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter Five: Derry and Dinner – Part 1, Part 2
Chapter Six: FlightPart 1, Part 2
Chapter Seven: StudentsPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter Eight: Family Feelings – Part 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter Nine: Winter to SpringPart 1, Part 2
Chapter Ten: Midsummer – Part 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter Eleven: TestsPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter Twelve: Taming the HurricanePart 1, Part 2
Chapter Thirteen: ChoicesPart 1, Part 2
Chapter Fourteen: Test FlightPart 1, Part 2
Chapter Fifteen: The Illuminai – Part 1, Part 2
Chapter Sixteen: The Chase – Part 1, Part 2
Chapter Seventeen: JourneysPart 1, Part 2
Chapter Eighteen: AquilaPart 1, Part 2
Chapter Nineteen: LessonsPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter Twenty: StormsPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter Twenty One: SnowfallPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter Twenty Two: The ThawPart 1, Part 2
Chapter Twenty Three: Kaz-NaghktPart 1, Part 2
Chapter Twenty Four: RemembrancesPart 1, Part 2

~ Full Character List ~

Rift Riders
Wingborn Book 2

On a world cursed to be covered in clouds, protected by the elite Rift Riders who fly on the backs of giant eagle miryhls, Lady Mhysra Kilpapan and her friends are making history. Women are now firmly back within the Rider fold and the future looks bright.

But even though Mhysra and her Wingborn Cumulo have survived their first year as students, there’s more to becoming a Rift Rider than lessons and training. Especially when trouble is brewing in the Wrathlen and the kaz-naghkt are looking for revenge.

Return to the Overworld for the next exciting Wingborn adventure, where strength, loyalty, honour and friendship are about to tested to their limits – and beyond.

Table of Contents

~ Prologue ~
Chapter One: Aquila in SummerPart 1, Part 2
Chapter Two: Students at LargePart 1, Part 2
Chapter Three: Watching the WrathlenPart 1, Part 2
~ Full Character List ~

If you haven’t read all of Rift Riders yet, the following blurb contains spoilers.
Scroll at your own risk.

Wingborn Book 3

Aquila has fallen and the Rift Riders are homeless. Freshly settled in the heart of the Overworld, the kaz-naghkt are more dangerous than ever, especially when united with their pirate allies. Scattered and divided, the Riders are desperate to reclaim their home – but first they need help.

After fleeing into the Greater West, Mhysra, Lyrai and their friends are sent south to the kingdom of Havia to plead for aid. But the land also borders the magical Storm Wash on the very edge of the Dragonlands, and soon the Riders have more to worry about than kaz-naghkt and unfriendly kings.

Back at Aquila, Lord Yullik sits high in his tower of triumph, but little does he know of the troubles that wait in the shadows.

The Dragongifted are waking – and the Overworld will never be the same again.

Table of Contents

~ Prologue ~
Chapter One: RefugeesPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter Two: LessonsPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter Three: TravellingPart 1, Part 2
Chapter Four: Northern SnowsPart 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter Five: MisthomePart 1, Part 2, Part 3

~ Character List ~

Tales of the Overworld

Short stories and deleted scenes featuring characters and settings from the Wingborn series and the Overworld.

A Royal Welcome – Stirla and Lyrai’s first meeting.

Mountain Blossom: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3 – Milli and Bumble go for a walk. A romantic interlude with Stirla ensues.
Deleted Scene: Cue vs Cane – Taken from Chapter 12, a first meeting between Cumulo and Hurricane that didn’t go quite as well.
Facing the HurricanePart 1, Part 2 – Cumulo and Hurricane’s first meeting.
Surviving Stirla: Part 1, Part 2 – A survival lesson with Stirla. Including Mhysra and Mouse… eep! (Takes place just before Ch 21)